POST PROCESSOR DEVELOPMENT

Post processor is a program that modifies toolpath contour and processing commands (e.g. spindle-on, lubricant coolant on, tool change, swarf extraction, etc.), generated in CAM system, into codes for certain CNC machine taking into account its kinematics. Application of post processor, developed for certain machine and its control system, allows to eliminate necessity in manual adjustment of NC program, accelerate item production and reduce the likelihood of processing issues.

It is also necessary to take into account that «machine – CNC system» combination shall be programmed in accordance with the options, selected by the client. This means that two identical «machine – CNC system» combinations may have totally different methods for programming of commands and functions. Thus, post processor, adjusted for one company, may not fit the requirements of another company by 100%. Even if post processor for specific «machine – CNC system» combinations is supplied with CAM system, it is unlikely that such post processor can generate NC program in strict compliance with machine and client requirements.

Correctly adjusted post processor allows using all capacities of your equipment, since post processor performs considerable amount of functions, for instance: encoding of linear motion consistently with impulse value; linear or circular interpolation of movements along circular arc, as well as encoding movements into impulses; calculation of movement dynamics, with tracing and reduction (if required) of coarse feed during fine movements («machine does not take run in time»); automatic generation of vector or correction function for tool radius into sentence; generating current sentence as per template, automatic enumeration of sentences with N-address; transforming runs, designated by processing engineer, into correct set of symbols with F-address and putting them into certain place of a sentence; determining NC program start and end, as well as sentence structure.

Ensuring perfect interaction of «CAM system – post processor – machine» sequence is one of the most important integration tasks, since maximum efficiency can be achieved only through optimum work of all elements of this sequence.

Post processor development stages are the same as for other software:

• Development, agreement and approval of terms of reference;

• Coding;

• Debugging;

• Testing on virtual and real-life equipment;

• Documentation development;

• Training;

• Implementation;

• Post processor commissioning;

• Technical support and consulting.

Code debugging program is required for development of up-to-date post processor. Debugging program allows simultaneous real-time reviewing of the following data, while post processor is running the commands:

• Post processor source code;

• Toolpath data;

• Control software for CNC machine.

In addition, it is possible to monitor variable values and start post processor in different modes to locate errors in text.

Разработка постпроцессоров

Постпроцессор – это программа, которая преобразует траекторию движения инструмента и технологические команды (например, включение шпинделя, СОЖ, смена инструмента, удаление стружки и т.п.), которые генерируются в CAM системе, в управляющие коды конкретного станка с ЧПУ с учетом его кинематики. Использование постпроцессора, разработанного под конкретный станок и его систему управления, позволяет исключить необходимость ручного исправления готовой NC программы и, соответственно, ускорить изготовление детали и снизить вероятность каких-либо проблем при обработке.

Но надо учитывать еще и то обстоятельство, как комбинация «станок — система ЧПУ» программируется в соответствии с выбранными клиентом опциями. Это означает, что две одинаковые комбинации «станок — система ЧПУ» могут иметь полностью различные способы программирования доступных команд и функций. Таким образом, постпроцессор, отлаженный для одной компании, не всегда на 100% подойдет для другой. Даже если в комплекте с САМ системой поставляются постпроцессоры для специфических комбинаций «станок — система ЧПУ», то маловероятно, что такой постпроцессор сгенерирует NC программу в точном соответствии с требованиями клиента и станка.

Корректно настроенный постпроцессор позволит использовать все возможности Вашего оборудования, так как постпроцессор выполняет немалое количество функций, например: кодирует линейные перемещения сообразно цене импульса; выполняет линейную или круговую интерполяцию перемещений по дуге окружности, а также кодирует их в импульсах; рассчитывает динамику перемещений, отслеживая и, если нужно, уменьшая слишком большую подачу на малом перемещении ("станок не успеет разогнаться"); автоматически выдает в кадр вектора или функции коррекции на радиус инструмента; строит текущий кадр по шаблону, автоматически нумеруя кадры под адресом N; превращает подачи, назначенные технологом, в конкретный набор символов с адресом F и выдает в нужное место кадра; оформляет как начало, так и конец УП, а также структуру кадра.

Обеспечение полного взаимодействия цепочки CAM система – постпроцессор – станок является одной из важнейших задач в рамках каждого внедрения, поскольку максимальной эффективности можно достичь только при оптимальной работе всех элементов этой цепочки.

Этапы разработки постпроцессора те же, что и другого программного обеспечения:

• разработка, согласование и утверждение технического задания;

• кодирование;

• отладка;

• тестирование на виртуальном и реальном оборудовании;

• разработка документации;

• обучение;

• внедрение;

• сдача постпроцессора;

• техническая поддержка и консультирование.

Отладчик кодов необходим для разработки современного постпроцессора. Отладчик позволяет в процессе выполнения команд постпроцессора просматривать в реальном времени одновременно:

• исходный текст постпроцессора;

• данные траектории инструмента;

• УП для станка с ЧПУ.

Кроме того, можно следить за значениями переменных и запускать постпроцессор в различных режимах, чтобы быстро локализовать ошибку в тексте.